Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    BOD MEMBER
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Northwest/Willowbrook
    Posts
    285
    Post Thanks / Like
    Post Thanks / Like

    90 to 150 Build Opinions

    Hey everyone, I am considering upgrading my tank from my 90 Gallon to a customer Planet Aquariums 150 (72x24x20). I would like opinions with the items I am considering below...any caveats, are the items worth the price etc.


    Tank: 150g Planet Aquarium Custom Tank (Rimless, Starfire on 3 Sides - waiting on quote) w/ Stand
    Sump: Trigger Triton 44
    Overflow: Synergy Reef Shadow Overflow
    Skimmer: Reef Octopus Classic 202-S 8"
    Lights: 4x Hydra 26 HD
    Power Heads: 2x Jebao RW-15
    Return Pump: Syncra 5.0

    Thoughts?


    Chris Francis
    M.A.R.S.H. - BoD
    Marine Aquarium and Reef Society of Houston

  2. #2
    Supporting Member Clownfish Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Spring 77373
    Posts
    2,291
    Post Thanks / Like
    Post Thanks / Like
    What’s there to say other than it’s not big enough!

  3. #3
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Richmond
    Posts
    839
    Post Thanks / Like
    Post Thanks / Like
    I’m curious why are you using an ac powered return pump? For bigger tank or ones with sumps I thought dc powered pump was a must. But I would go with dc pump imo.

  4. #4
    Supporting Member Clownfish Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Spring 77373
    Posts
    2,291
    Post Thanks / Like
    Post Thanks / Like
    My reeflo dart was plenary powerful enough for my 210. Reeflo’s pumps are among many others that are tried and true AC powered return pumps. Don’t get caught up in all the hype of the latest and greatest or the environmentalist drama. Ask Nicola Tesla, AC is where it’s at!

    Edit: It all comes down to reliability. Write-Up Wednesday: DC Return Pumps – Mr. Saltwater Tank
    Last edited by Clownfish Chris; 4 Days Ago at 12:32 PM.


Similar Threads

  1. Need some opinions
    By steved350 in forum Marine and Reef General Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-29-2011, 06:40 PM
  2. Looking for your opinions
    By Jmel in forum Vendor/Sponsor Feedback
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 02-21-2008, 10:32 PM
  3. Need some opinions/help please...
    By MCR in forum Marine and Reef General Discussion
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 06-15-2005, 01:30 PM
  4. Need some outside opinions
    By RDawg200 in forum Marine and Reef General Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-27-2005, 08:13 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •